Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Running a cable from underseat to handlebars  (Read 328 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline guiri

  • Explorer Member
  • **
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 18
  • Gender: Male
  • Bike: Tiger 1200 XRT
  • City / Town: Manchester
  • Country: UK
Running a cable from underseat to handlebars
« on: January 11, 2018, 09:21:37 PM »
Hi all

Before I start pulling trim off my new bike, I would like an idea if I'm doing the right thing... (read some issues about lockthread on fasteners)

I want to run a cable for phone power (effectively USB) from underseat to the handlebars. Can I get away with just removing the two fasteners highlighted in yellow (and the corresponding two black pieces of trim) or will I need to tackle the Triumph logo on the side of the tank as well?


Any advice will be much appreciated (especially if the black trim needs a particular technique to get off).

Cheers
guiri

Offline Number14

  • Explorer Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Gender: Male
  • Bike: A white one
  • City / Town: Too far south
  • Country: UK
Re: Running a cable from underseat to handlebars
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2018, 10:06:56 PM »
As Kylie Mynogue sang “ you should be so lucky”.

You’ll have to remove the entire left side label on the tank to feed the cable up along the inside of the frame.

Offline guiri

  • Explorer Member
  • **
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 18
  • Gender: Male
  • Bike: Tiger 1200 XRT
  • City / Town: Manchester
  • Country: UK
Re: Running a cable from underseat to handlebars
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2018, 10:18:40 PM »
*Originally Posted by Number14 [+]
You’ll have to remove the entire left side label on the tank to feed the cable up along the inside of the frame.

That's what I was worried about in terms of fasteners that have been lockthreaded... I will have a gentle tweak to see what happens... and maybe I will get lucky!

Cheers
guiri

Online NiK

  • Explorer God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3307
  • Gender: Male
  • Bike: Red Skin
  • City / Town: Marseille
  • Country: France
Re: Running a cable from underseat to handlebars
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2018, 09:22:02 AM »
Well, I did pass some wire without removing ANY part whatsoever.
A bit of careful fiddling and you can have wires run under the tank up to the bars.
However, you might end up with wires not completely concealed from view.

As for having +12V and GRD from the underseat, I strongly recommend to take both from a dedicated "fuze block". I have the one built and sold by Mark (https://www.tiger-explorer.com/index.php/topic,10774.0.html) and it is simply excellent.

Online Will Morgan

  • Explorer Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 767
  • Gender: Male
  • Bike: Explorer
  • City / Town: Ross on Wye
  • Country: United Kingdom
Re: Running a cable from underseat to handlebars
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2018, 10:23:01 AM »
*Originally Posted by NiK [+]
Well, I did pass some wire without removing ANY part whatsoever.
A bit of careful fiddling and you can have wires run under the tank up to the bars.
However, you might end up with wires not completely concealed from view.

 :0461:   I did exactly that. It took a bit of patience and a stiff wire hook to pull/push the cable thru' the gaps. I found it was a lot easier on the right side of the bike than the left side - there seemed to be less obstructions and/or more space. From memory I think it was mainly the top radiator hose that got in the way on the left.

Offline oddwriter

  • Explorer Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Gender: Male
  • Bike: Explorer XRT
  • City / Town: Nottingham
  • Country: England
Re: Running a cable from underseat to handlebars
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2018, 10:25:21 AM »
I've also got Mark's fuse block but haven't installed it yet. Still trying to decide where to put it as its not totally waterproof and don't want to cause problems due to water ingress. Where/how have you mounted yours?

Online NiK

  • Explorer God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3307
  • Gender: Male
  • Bike: Red Skin
  • City / Town: Marseille
  • Country: France
Re: Running a cable from underseat to handlebars
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2018, 05:04:04 PM »
*Originally Posted by oddwriter [+]
I've also got Mark's fuse block but haven't installed it yet. Still trying to decide where to put it as its not totally waterproof and don't want to cause problems due to water ingress. Where/how have you mounted yours?
Under the seat.
From there, I distribute current to several mods. Of course, since I have two left hands with only thumbs, one of the mods did short-circuit, but Mark's auto-rearming fuse did its job incredibly well!

HIGHLY recommended.

 


Recent Topics