Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Are the gadgets worth it?  (Read 3114 times)

Offline sirsidneyrd

• Explorer Master
  • Bike: X12-Laverda Jota
  • City / Town: Cotswolds
Re: Are the gadgets worth it?
« Reply #40 on: December 12, 2018, 05:06:58 PM »
These upmarket motors emit all the time looking for a signal - just poor - in fact your banger with a security shield on the wheel is safer - as i said earlier will not buy a new one until its an option - one more thing to go wrong at the wrong time - cue copious swearing and a dead bike for the owner or indeed a lost bike
Tiffen - splendid idea - in the lunge

Offline Griff

• Explorer God
  • Bike: Explorer and others
  • City / Town: Wicklow
« Reply #41 on: December 12, 2018, 05:28:08 PM »
I have been riding continuously for almost 50 years. As such I consider myself to be a traditional motorcyclist. I also consider myself progressive.

I like EFI.

I think ABS is a good modern progression on bikes.

I like Cruise Control, especially as I get older and suffer with numbness of my hands.

I like the idea of Electronic suspension because of its ability to change settings on the fly. However they do wear out and the cost of replacement or repair is prohibitive.

I don't need engine modes, especially on a very tractable triple motor. It is totally unnecessary there. However it is necessary on Twins with ridiculous horsepower such as Ducati and KTM.

I have Keyless ignition on one of my bikes. I feel it is unnecessary especially as I still have to carry a key fob around with me.

I think that is everything relevant to me on bikes that I have owned to date.

Offline sirsidneyrd

• Explorer Master
« Reply #42 on: December 12, 2018, 06:58:03 PM »
Lets hope Triumph will listen to real people - this is a working bike not a Sunday rider  :440:

Offline CaptainTrips

• Explorer God
  • Bike: '13 Explorer
  • City / Town: Vancouver(ish)
« Reply #43 on: December 12, 2018, 08:15:38 PM »