Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Tips when checking/adjusting valve clearances, etc  (Read 262 times)

Offline coolhand

• Explorer Member
  • Topic Author
  • Bike: Explorer 1200 (2012)
  • City / Town: Laksevåg
Tips when checking/adjusting valve clearances, etc
« on: March 31, 2019, 03:50:41 PM »
I have just finished checking and adjusting the valves - valve cover in place, now I only need to put it all back together and start the engine to see if I succeeded  :156:

I used Mark's manual for the job, with the workshop manual for reference. Here is a few tips for those of you doing this the first (or second?) time. This is things I use to do when reshimming and such. I am not a mechanic, just an experienced self-taught motorcycle mechaning. I  thought I'd sahre some of my habits, if you can use them for yourself. English is not my native lanuage, so if anything is unclear or seems wierd, just tell me and I will try to explain it better.

- Using a torque wrench to tighten the camshaft ladder bolts is possible: In Mark's manual it says it is not possible to use a torque wrench when tightening the bolts at the camshaft lader (aka the spider). Well, it is possible! I used a small torque wrench (0-20 nm). The wrench has a total length of 30 cm. The bolts are 8mm hexagon, so find a bit that wil fight right on. With a torque wrecnh this short in lenght, I managed to access almost all the bolts from the righthand side, using the lefthand side to access the leftmost four bolts. As long as you have all the wires and stuff out of the way, I found it quite easy to use the wrench for this. Easy-peasy!