Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Shad top box  (Read 602 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gibboian

  • Explorer Junior
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 10
  • Bike: TEX 1200 2012
  • City / Town: Warrington
  • Country: United Kingdom
Shad top box
« on: September 01, 2019, 10:45:27 AM »
I've acquired a Shad 46 litre box to use on my gen1. I can't find a fitting kit anywhere (they sell one for 2016 onwards).

The plate for the box is generic (the holes don't line up)

Has anyone solved this problem?

Online Crosshairs

  • Explorer Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
  • Bike: Tiger 1200
  • City / Town: OCEANPORT
  • Country: United States
Re: Shad top box
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2019, 12:07:54 PM »
why not just drill your own holes. ?

Offline vt_sailor

  • Explorer Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Bike: Explorer
  • City / Town: Saratoga Springs, NY
  • Country: USA
Re: Shad top box
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2019, 12:55:42 PM »
I wanted my top box back further than the existing holes would allow.  I took a piece of 1/4” (6mm) ABS plastic and drilled two sets of holes.  One set matched the mounting holes on the bike, the other matched the holes for the top box mounting plate.  Bolted everything together and went for a ride. It’s been there for 60,000 miles with no issues.

Ray
2015 Explorer--givi bags with motech mounts,
Radiator protector, delrin gps mount, OEM & motech crash bars, motech hand guards, Clearwater Darla fog lights

Offline gibboian

  • Explorer Junior
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 10
  • Bike: TEX 1200 2012
  • City / Town: Warrington
  • Country: United Kingdom
Re: Shad top box
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2019, 01:52:27 PM »
That's a great idea, did the bolt heads on to the rack cause any problem when fixing the plate?

Offline bazthebike

  • Explorer Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Bike: xcx 17/blue
  • City / Town: southwest
  • Country: uk
Re: Shad top box
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2019, 08:03:07 AM »
I have shad sh50 on my gen 2. my son engineered a base plate.threads through plate and bolts countersunk. neat as you like. Been on for 14k,no issues.

Offline vt_sailor

  • Explorer Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Bike: Explorer
  • City / Town: Saratoga Springs, NY
  • Country: USA
Re: Shad top box
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2019, 02:35:54 PM »
I replaced the standard bolts with flat head hex machine screws.  That way they could be countersunk into the baseplate and were completely flush.  It’s a bit of an adventure bolting on the mounting plate to the adapter as there isn’t a lot of room underneath to slide in the machine screws but you only have to do it once.
2015 Explorer--givi bags with motech mounts,
Radiator protector, delrin gps mount, OEM & motech crash bars, motech hand guards, Clearwater Darla fog lights

Offline gibboian

  • Explorer Junior
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 10
  • Bike: TEX 1200 2012
  • City / Town: Warrington
  • Country: United Kingdom
Re: Shad top box
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2019, 09:57:57 PM »
Thanks VT_Sailor, I have acquired a sheet of 10mm acrylic and will copy your idea. At least its easy to mark the holes!

Thanks for the suggestion, much appreciated.

Offline itchyfeet

  • Explorer Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Bike: Graphite TEX
  • City / Town: Stonehenge
  • Country: England
Re: Shad top box
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2019, 10:13:59 AM »
Think I'm definately going to have to do something similar. I've been ok with the standard top box on my Gen 1 for 50 odd thou but my wife has started coming along with my now and the original is just too small. i like the power socket though.

Offline bazthebike

  • Explorer Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Bike: xcx 17/blue
  • City / Town: southwest
  • Country: uk
Re: Shad top box
« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2019, 01:09:09 PM »
I bought my shad sh50 a few years ago second hand. I have now had it on Aprilia caponord 1000, then on Aprilia caponord 1200, then triumph 800xrx and now on gen 2 explorer. My son makes me a new baseplate when I need one. ps the shad topbox is well made, nice shape and holds 2 lids. wouldn't be without it.

Offline NiK

  • Explorer God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4265
  • Bike: Red Skin Mk3
  • City / Town: Marseille
  • Country: France
Re: Shad top box
« Reply #9 on: September 05, 2019, 04:37:21 PM »
Here is the very simple (yet ugly) trick I used to install my old Kapa box onto my first Tex ('12).
It stayed solid for 2 years and 40,000 km.

I simply used to two front holes that were matching the plate, then extended the two rearmost ones.

 


Recent Topics