Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Error code P16A2  (Read 677 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Will Morgan

  • Explorer Master
  • ****
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 1026
  • Bike: Explorer
  • City / Town: Ross on Wye
  • Country: United Kingdom
Error code P16A2
« on: December 29, 2018, 01:32:02 PM »
On my Gen 2 I recently had a message on the dash when I switch on the ignition but it went off instantly.....in fact so damn quick I couldn't read it!
There's nothing unusual showing on any dash warning lights or under "show warnings" on the menu.
So I checked for error codes and found P16A2 C0000. On the list I had saved from elsewhere on this forum all codes have a letter followed by 4 numbers and none has a letter in 4th position like the 'A' in this error code.
Anyone got any ideas what it is?

Online T800XC

  • Explorer Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 948
  • Bike: Tiger 1200 XRT
  • City / Town: English Riviera
  • Country: UK
Re: Error code P16A2
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2018, 04:00:08 PM »
Sorry, my posted DTC list on here is incomplete and I need to update it when I can find the time. However, I do have a complete list and...

P16A2  Engine ECM detects Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) present but with signal error.

As a result, Cornering Traction Control and Roll-Over Detection are disabled. This fault won't illuminate the MIL but will take 40 no-fault cycles before it gets erased. Initial diagnostics are to check that the IMU connector is secure. After that, it's a case of carrying out a number of pinpoint tests between the ECM and IMU for short & open circuit conditions.


C0000 means that there are no Chassis ECM errors.
...Desire ends in satisfaction...

Online Will Morgan

  • Explorer Master
  • ****
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 1026
  • Bike: Explorer
  • City / Town: Ross on Wye
  • Country: United Kingdom
Re: Error code P16A2
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2018, 04:29:47 PM »
Top chap, thank you for such a precise explanation - and so quickly. It's help like this that makes this forum so invaluable!

So next question.....whereabouts is the IMU connector located?
« Last Edit: December 29, 2018, 04:33:22 PM by Will Morgan »

Online T800XC

  • Explorer Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 948
  • Bike: Tiger 1200 XRT
  • City / Town: English Riviera
  • Country: UK
Re: Error code P16A2
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2018, 04:46:31 PM »
*Originally Posted by Will Morgan [+]
So next question.....whereabouts is the IMU connector located?
Under the seat bridge at the back end of the petrol tank.
...Desire ends in satisfaction...

Online Will Morgan

  • Explorer Master
  • ****
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 1026
  • Bike: Explorer
  • City / Town: Ross on Wye
  • Country: United Kingdom
Re: Error code P16A2
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2018, 07:05:41 PM »
Thanks again! I'll check it tomorrow.

Online Will Morgan

  • Explorer Master
  • ****
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 1026
  • Bike: Explorer
  • City / Town: Ross on Wye
  • Country: United Kingdom
Re: Error code P16A2
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2019, 02:43:13 PM »
After ignoring the error code  & riding as usual with no sign of anything amiss, I eventually got the dealer to investigate. First step was to clear the error to see if it would recur - pleased to report it hasn't.
Dealer reckons it was the canbus system or some sensor having a random hissy-fit. When they interrogated the system there were a few other errors recorded but none to cause concern & didn't tell me specifics of what they were.
Their best-guess diagnosis was they were all adverse reactions to low battery voltage.
I don't use a trickle charger 'coz the bike gets run often enough to keep volts good but dealer said it might be advisable as a precaution.

Online salisburytiger

  • Explorer Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Bike: Tiger 1200
  • City / Town: Salisbury
  • Country: UK
Re: Error code P16A2
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2019, 05:56:24 PM »
Interesting that, seems having a battery which is not quite spot on causes bikes all sorts of trouble...
Cars don't have that issue do they?
I thought leaving my optimate connected most of the time was overkill but maybe not...

Offline CaptainTrips

  • Explorer God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4139
  • Bike: '13 Explorer
  • City / Town: Vancouver(ish)
  • Country: CA
Re: Error code P16A2
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2019, 06:47:28 PM »
*Originally Posted by salisburytiger [+]
Interesting that, seems having a battery which is not quite spot on causes bikes all sorts of trouble...
Cars don't have that issue do they?
I thought leaving my optimate connected most of the time was overkill but maybe not...
I am grateful for my gen1 TEX which has no such issues. Still on the original battery. I top up the charge once per winter and never leave it on trickle charge. And no issues, so far.
"The test of the machine is the satisfaction it gives you. There isn't any other test."   --   Robert M. Pirsig

Online salisburytiger

  • Explorer Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Bike: Tiger 1200
  • City / Town: Salisbury
  • Country: UK
Re: Error code P16A2
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2019, 07:40:39 PM »
quite... I'm driving a computer with an engine!
(and it wants a good voltage!)

 


Recent Topics